Twitter lets users decide who can reply to their tweets even AFTER they are sent

Twitter has introduced a new feature that lets users choose who can reply to a tweet even after it has been sent.

Users can now choose who can reply to their tweets directly – the people specifically tagged in the tweet, the user’s followers, or any Twitter member.

Anyone can still view, retweet, retweet with Comments, and ‘like’ posts, and see who is invited to reply.

Scroll down for the video

Twitter updated its reply control feature to allow users to decide who can reply to their tweets even if they are sent

Twitter updated its reply control feature to allow users to decide who can reply to their tweets even if they are sent

The company describes the counter -control setting as turning Twitter threads into ‘conversations’ that will allow users to ‘feel safer to Tweet and have more meaningful conversations.’

The San Francisco -based media giant made its appearance on Tuesday, but has been experimenting with it at least since May 2020.

To change the list of respondents, users can select from a drop-down menu that also allows them to turn off the conversation and delete the tweet altogether.

Twitter began allowing all users to control who could reply to a tweet in August 2020, but respondents had to be tagged before a post was published and could not be edited later.

Members can choose between allowing the people mentioned in the story to respond, followers or all Twitter users.  This feature will turn threads into ‘conversations’ that allow users to feel safer Tweets and more meaningful conversations, ’according to the company.

Members can choose between allowing the person mentioned in the story to respond, followers or all Twitter users. This feature will turn threads into ‘conversations’ that allow users to feel safer to Tweet and have more meaningful conversations, ’according to the company.

Now users can retroactively tighten control over who responds, if they feel they are being harassed or inundated with irrelevant replies.

‘Your Tweet = Your Space,’ Twitter Security tweet Tuesday afternoon in announcing the launch. ‘Now you can change who can reply to you even after you tweet.

In 2020, in the midst of the U.S. presidential election and the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak, the company is focused on identifying hate speech and misinformation, warning consumers if the link contains a revoked conspiracy theory.

If Twitter’s algorithm thinks that a user might be sending a rude tweet, it will send a pop -up asking them if they definitely want to publish it.

This year, it focuses on giving users more control over their posts: In June, Twitter launched Twitter Blue, a subscription service that gives users the option of the ability to edit tweets that have been posted.

Customers can use the ‘undo’ feature which allows them to withdraw and make changes up to 30 seconds after pressing submit.

The new feature was initially rolled out to consumers in Australia, priced at around $ 3.33 US a month, and Canada, at a charge of around $ 2.50 US a month.

Other members will see who is invited to reply.  People who can't reply will still be able to view, retweet, retweet with Comments, and 'like' the post

Other members will see who is invited to reply. People who can’t reply can still view, retweet, retweet with Comments, and ‘like’ posts

The company has not yet stated when it will launch the feature in the US.

In a blog post announcing Twitter Blue, the San Francisco -based company also teased out other new subscription features, such as customizable app icons, reader mode, an easier way to bookmark folders and dedicated customer support.

But Twitter denies the move is part of a phased plan to start charging to use the entire platform, insisting the free service ‘won’t go away, and never will.’

“This subscription offer is only intended to add enhanced features and complement the existing Twitter experience for those who want it,” the company said at the time.

Twitter announced its new subscription service, Twitter Blue, on Thursday, letting users cancel tweets and making it easier with the new Reader Mode

Twitter announced its new subscription service, Twitter Blue, on Thursday, letting users cancel tweets and making it easier with the new Reader Mode

In April, Twitter launched Tip Jar, which lets users send and receive money on the platform as a way to ‘receive and show support.’

The tool adds a new Tip Jar icon to a user’s profile and gives payment options to anyone who taps it, with services like PayPal already signing up.

So far, content creators, journalists, experts and nonprofit organizations are among the first group to be given access to the new tools.

In 2019, Twitter expanded a feature that allows users to hide certain replies that they may deem inappropriate or inappropriate for public use.

.

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *